Strict new Yellow Fever controls for visitors to Suriname

Strict new Yellow Fever controls for visitors to Suriname

In response to the yellow fever epidemic in Africa, the Ministry of Health in Suriname has announced that control of yellow fever vaccination will be increased for travelers from yellow fever risk regions:


AFRICA: Angola, Benin, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo, C6te d’lvoire, Democratic Republic of Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Sudan, South Sudan, Togo and Uganda.

SOUTH AMERICA: Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Colombia, Ecuador, French Guiana, Guyana, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Suriname, Trinidad & Tobago, Venezuela.


As of November 4, 2016, the control will be conducted by the Immigration officers at all border crossings, ports and international airports in Suriname. Travellers who are not vaccinated against yellow fever will be refused entry to the country.


Travelers should have their vaccination book with them upon entry to Suriname.


If you have any questions, please contact Wilderness Explorers at +592 227-7698, email us at, or use the live chat facility on our website.

Stay Informed